Purple in my Nails

Hey! I’m Back! I’ve been quite busy lately, thus the lack of posts  but my intention is to post more frequently this month, we’ll see. At least that’s one of my new month’s resolutions…

Early this week (Tuesday) I tried one of the nail polishes I bought in NYC in September (and believe it or not I still haven’t gone through everything I got there…)

Keeping with my  purple obsession (it also helps that it matches most of my outfits this time of the year) I tried Purple Luck from Sally Hansen.

Here’s how it looks:

Plum Luck without flash

...and Plum Luck with flash

I LOOVE the deep color, very flattering for my pale hands.

This required two coats and is easy to apply although the consistency is a bit thick. I don’t like the brush applicator, too wide and big to my liking but it does the job well nevertheless.

In terms of how long this lasted on my nails, I took a picture of them this morning and this is how they looked  (so 4 and a half days later after I applied the nail polish):

Plum Luck after 4 days and a bit

You can see the nails had lost the just painted finish luster and you can vaguely start seeing some signs of chipping around the edges but  I think they look pretty good for day 4.

I have to say that most of my nail polishes last this amount of time on me, whether they are cheap (Barry M) or pricier (Essie, OPI). I really think this is due to the top coat I apply, Insta-Dry, which I ‘ve already talk about here in a previous blog. To me this is really what makes the difference.

Before that my nail polish used to last about 2 days. That and the fact that I do wash my dishes with rubber gloves, which I think kind of helps too…

Unfortunately this evening they really chipped badly so I had to remove the polish.

How long does your nail polish last on you and what do you do to prevent the chipping?

About theredpipette71

Scientist make up/fashion lover After Spain, The Netherlands, France, US I'm currently living in the UK. Love travelling to Asia with my friends.Who knows if I'll move there in the future! I discovered this blogging thing not long ago and would like to share my make up/beauty finds with you. View all posts by theredpipette71

Leave a Reply

