True Blues

Today I’ve been experimenting with blue nail polishes (and a little bit of green).

I’ll start with the green. It’s the Barry M polish in “Spring Green”.

Barry M in Spring Green

I decided to paint only one nail just to see the color. It is a nice green with some blue undertones…but then realized I wasn’t in the mood for green after all.

Went for some blues and painted the rest of my nails in Rimmel’s 60 seconds polish in 825 “Sky High”.

Nails in Barry M green (pictured) and Rimmel's Sky High blue

The Rimmel polish doesn’t photograph well for some reason. It’s more of a dark turquoise with some hints of teal but in the picture is just seem a pale blue.

Really pretty blue.

In the end I went all blue but tried Barry M’s 291 “Cobalt Blue” on top of the green (crazy combinations, I don’t know what got to me today).

Barry M in Cobalt Blue

Cobalt Blue is darker on the nail (probably due to the green base) than in the bottle. I definitely want to try it on its own. But it will probably look better on darker or tanned hands. Hopefully after my holidays…

Just another picture to show you how the Rimmel bottle looks like:

Rimmel in Sky High

It is really disappointing that I didn’t manage to capture the turquoise in this color. I guess you should go to their website to check the real color but it’s definitely worth checking it out. I got a lot of compliments on the color the first time I tried it.

I’ll leave the darker blue on my nail, it looks a little more edgier that way. It reminds me of a blue polish that I used to wear about long time ago. My then thesis director when he saw me wearing blue nails said” My wife’s car is that color by the way”. It was probably too much for the lab at that time. Now I really don’t care whether people like it or not (but in fact I’ve only heard praises so far).

These nail polishes were £2.50 (BarryM as part of 2 for £5 in Superdrug) and I think there was a simiar offer in Boots for the Rimmel polishes (I also got “Grey Matter” that same day).

So really affordable.

Voila! Experiment is over!

About theredpipette71

Scientist make up/fashion lover After Spain, The Netherlands, France, US I'm currently living in the UK. Love travelling to Asia with my friends.Who knows if I'll move there in the future! I discovered this blogging thing not long ago and would like to share my make up/beauty finds with you. View all posts by theredpipette71

Leave a Reply

