ELF Make Up-Everyday routine (summer)

Thanks to Xteeener Youtube channel ( http://www.youtube.com/user/xteeener ) last year that I discovered  the very good-value-for-money ELF make up products (ELD stands for eyeslipsface). Most products (including make up brushes) are a £1.50! Then there’s a “Studio Professional” line that is £3.50. Good to indulge in one’s make up passion!

There are no stores in the UK as far as I know so you need to order online, free shipping over £30 and the delivery is VERY fast. They even send you a text to your mobile phone when they send the package so that you know when it will  arrive (usually a day later for me most of the time).

Don’t know why I’m rambling about this. Pretty sure most of you know already!

Xteener has excellent review videos about a lot of ELF make up products and brushes (which I think are pretty good in general by the way). You should definitely check them out. Most of the things I bought I did because I saw a nice review from her or from other ELF-converted, like I am now myself…

I’m just going to mention the make up that I use everyday and then I’ll have another post for the brushes. My make up bag (which I bought also from ELF, a nice pearly silver bag for £8 I think) has a lot of these.

My everyday make up basics bag

There are of course some misses but there are definitely some hits.

There we go, here are some of the hits (in the order that I apply them):

ELF-Everyday make up

(Actually after applying moisturiser I start with a under eye concealer, two drops, which is actually from Maybelline, the “PureCover Mineral Concealer” in 01 Nude Beige (the fairest shade). In these summer days I use it by itself without the primer because I don’t wear hardly any eyeshadow).

Blending wedges (6 for £ 1.50!). Use to blend in the concealer and also the cover stick concealer (next).

All Over Cover Stick in “Honey”. In the website it is advertised to “soothe and protect the skin to camouflage those problematic facial areas”. And that’s why I use it: to cover those broken capillaries and red areas around the nose. It’s medium coverage but prefer to other products that have more coverage but leave a “cakey” finish. I apply with wedges or, where I need more  coverage, with my fingers and then blend with the wedge.

Mineral Eyeshadow Primer. This product is truly FaNTASTIQUE! It deserves its own picture (;-) and a minireview. I use three drops on each lid (also sometimes under the lower lashes) and then blend with my finger. It leaves a beige cream finish that can look a bit too whiteish on tanned skin (that’s what I’m not using it now) but it perfectly covers any irregular pigmentation of the lids, blueish veins and all. It dries  fast (after you’ve applied it on one lid the other one is already dry) but is nevertheless easy to blend.

Your eyeshadow will last perfectly intact for more than 8 HOURS!!!! (Tried and tested many many times, Xteeener has a very nice tutorial on it and compares it to the much more expensive Urban Decay Primer, which I haven’t tried, didn’t have to really). Your eyeliner won’t transfer. And all that for only £3!! That’s hard to beat.

ELF eye primer and Maybelline's mineral concealer

CAREFUL: It is the MINERAL eye primer. They also have a primer in their regular line which I’ve heard is not that good, but haven’t tested myself.

Mineral Concealer SPF15 in “Warm”. I use this to set in all the previous products. I apply it with the fluffy ELF ” Blending Eye Brush” (also pictured).

In summer I don’t use any  foundation or mineral foundation just bronzer over this.

ELF Warm Bronzer (Studio line) £3. This is lightly shimmery but not overwhemly so. I swipe the three darker shades with the ELF Total Face Brush an use it all  over my face with more enphasis on my cheekbones and my forehead.

I then use the lighter shade as a cheekbone highlighter with a blush brush and the darker shade with the same brush as eyeshadow. It gives a shimmery golden brownish natural look and over the mineral concealer doesn’t crease and stays on all day.

Overall very happy with this product.

ELF Warm Bronzer and Total Face Brush

I  use these on a daily basis. I’ve  had no reaction from my skin at all, and  my skin is prone to eczema, redness and break outs (which at my age, frankly is quite irritating!) compared to some of the other cheap brands.

Super Glossy Lip Shine SPF15 in Malt Shake (brownish) and in Goddess (pinkish). £1.50 each. These are  very similar in colour, they both are applied very easily give a very nice lip tone and smell and taste like candy! They are not long-lasting but stay on for a decent amount of time.

…and here are some of the misses:

Liquid eyeshadow in Sexy silver, not a 100% miss but because it dries out quickly cab be messy to apply with my inexperienced hands. Also it is not very pigmented, at least the color I tried.

Mineral Blemish Kit in “Clear” (comes with an applicator brush). Not very efficient at that although it reduces the redness of blemishes.

Sorry for such a LONG post! I have other ELF products but I’ll review them in a different one otherwise this is going to last forever.

Do you also use ELF products, and if so, which ones are your favorites?

About theredpipette71

Scientist make up/fashion lover After Spain, The Netherlands, France, US I'm currently living in the UK. Love travelling to Asia with my friends.Who knows if I'll move there in the future! I discovered this blogging thing not long ago and would like to share my make up/beauty finds with you. View all posts by theredpipette71

5 responses to “ELF Make Up-Everyday routine (summer)

Leave a Reply

